Note that the information on this page is for reference only, you should refer to the canadian immigration website for the latest information and requirements on VISA procedures.

For a simple visit of a few weeks, the citizens of most countries only need to purchase an electronic travel authorisation (ETA) for $7 CAD. The following countries are eligible for an ETA only application :

Andorra Australia Austria Bahamas Barbados
Belgium Brunei Darussalam Bulgaria Chile Croatia
Czech Republic Denmark Estonia Finland France
Germany Greece Hong Kong Hungary Iceland
Ireland Italy Japan Korea South Latvia
Liechtenstein Lithuania Luxembourg Malta Mexico
Monaco Netherlands New Zealand Norway Papua New Guinea
Poland Portugal Republic of Cyprus Romania Samoa
San Marino Singapore Slovakia Slovenia Solomon Islands
Spain Sweden Switzerland Taiwan United Kingdom
Vatican City


As well as British overseas territory citizen who derives that citizenship through birth, descent, naturalization or registration in one of the British overseas territories of:


Anguilla Bermuda British Virgin Islands Cayman Islands Falkland Islands
Gibraltar Montserrat Pitcairn Island Saint Helena Turks and Caicos Islands

Furthermore, American citizens only need proper documentation (passport or american ID) to cross the border to Canada and do not need to purchase an ETA.


Other countries will need a VISA to enter Canada and thus should start the procedures in advance as the delays can vary greatly depending on where you apply from.