Plenary Speakers & NTC Award Winners

NTC AwardeeAwardMotivation
Prof. Jean-Pierre LeburtonPioneer AwardFor pioneering contribution to the theory and simulation of semiconductor nanostructures and low dimensional nanoscale devices.
Prof. Max ShulakerEarly Career AwardFor his pioneering work in carbon nanotubes and the broad area of nano-systems, including nanofabrication technologies, nanodevices, circuits, and architectures.
Dr. Myeong-Lok SeolEarly Career AwardFor innovative contributions to the development of triboelectric power generation and printed supercapacitors for space missions.
Prof. John YeowDistinguished Service AwardFor distinguished service, including accomplishments as an Editor-in-Chief of the IEEE Nanotechnology Magazine and other service achievements.

Plenary SpeakerTopic
Prof. Luisa De ColaSupramolecular assembly, luminescent materials, biomedical applications
Prof. Yury GogotsiOptical and Electronic Properties of 2D Transition Metal Carbides and Nitrides (MXenes)
Prof. John PolanyiSurface aligned reaction governs nanofabrication
Prof. Shelley MinteerNanobioelectrocatalysis for Energy and Environmental Applications

Professor John Polanyi (Nobel laureate), University of Toronto

Surface aligned reaction governs nanofabrication

The research of the laboratory falls into the following three phases: gaseous reaction dynamics by measurement of state-specified rates, transition state spectroscopy, surface aligned photochemistry.

John Charles Polanyi, educated at Manchester University, England, was a postdoctoral fellow at Princeton University, U.S.A. and the National Research Council, Canada. He is presently a faculty member in the Department of Chemistry at the University of Toronto. His research is on the molecular motions in chemical reactions in gases and at surfaces. He is a Fellow of the Royal Societies of Canada (F.R.S.C.), of London (F.R.S.), and of Edinburgh (F.R.S.E.), also of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, the U.S. National Academy of Sciences, the Pontifical Academy of Rome and the Russian Academy of Sciences. He is a member of the Queen’s Privy Council for Canada (P.C.), and a Companion of the Order of Canada (C.C.). His awards include the 1986 Nobel Prize in Chemistry, the Royal Medal of the Royal Society of London, and over thirty honorary degrees from six countries.

He has served on the Prime Minister of Canada’s Advisory Board on Science and Technology, the Premier’s Council of Ontario, as Foreign Honorary Advisor to the Institute for Molecular Sciences, Japan, and as Honorary Advisor to the Max Planck Institute for Quantum Optics, Germany.

He was a founding member of both the Committee on Scholarly Freedom of the Royal Society, and a further international human rights organization, the Canadian Committee for Scientists and Scholars, of which he is the current President. Additionally he was the founding Chairman of the Canadian Pugwash Group in 1960, and has been active for 40years in International Pugwash. He has written extensively on science policy, the control of armaments, and peacekeeping. He is co-editor of a book, The Dangers of Nuclear War, and was a participant in the recent ‘Canada 21’ study of a 21st-century defence posture for Canada. He was co-chair (with Sir Brian Urquhart) of the Department of Foreign Affairs International Consultative Committee on a Rapid Response Capability for the United Nations. 

Prof. Yury Gogotsi, Drexel University

Optical and Electronic Properties of 2D Transition Metal Carbides and Nitrides (MXenes)

A. J. Drexel Nanomaterials Institute and Department of Materials Science and Engineering, Drexel University, Philadelphia, PA, USA


Prof. Gogotsi works on synthesis and surface modification of inorganic nanomaterials, such as nanodiamond, carbide-derived carbons, nanotubes, and two-dimensional carbides and nitrides (MXenes). His group also explores energy related and other applications of materials discovered and developed in Gogotsi Lab. His work on carbon and carbide nanomaterials with tunable structure and porosity had a major impact on the field of capacitive energy storage.




Prof. Luisa De Cola, University of Strasbourg

Supramolecular assembly, luminescent materials, biomedical applications

Full Professor (Class Exceptionnelle), AXA chair of Supra-molecular and Biomaterial Chemistry, at ISIS, University of Strasbourg and CNRS, France and adjunct Scientist at the Karlsruher Institut für Technologie, Germany.

De Cola group is interested in the self assembly of molecules as well as nanoparticles in defined structure. The assemblies can be fibers, micelles, vesicles, gels and are dynamic reversible structures. Self-assembly can induce several properties such as change in the emission color, enhancement or turn on of the emission, different reactivity or even different functionality. Amongst the molecules selected platinum complexes and for the materials porous silica. Systems can be organized using covalent and/or non covalent interactions or even using light (optical tweezer).



Prof. Shelley Minteer, University of Utah

Nanobioelectrocatalysis for Energy and Environmental Applications

Shelley Minteer is a USTAR Professor in the Departments of Chemistry and Materials Science & Engineering at the University of Utah. She conducts externally-funded research, teaching at the undergraduate and graduate level.

Minteer joined JCESR in 2015 to help take a more predictive approach to rationally designing anolytes and catholytes for redox flow batteries. She was focused on developing electroanalytical and spectroscopic assays for QSPR parameter determination. These assays were used with QSPR modeling to predict more stable electrolytes, electrolytes that minimize crossover, and more soluble electrolytes for non-aqueous redox flow batteries in collaboration with Matthew Sigman’s group at the University of Utah and Melanie Sanford’s group at the University of Michigan.

Minteer also worked with Sanford’s group and Brett Helm’s group at Berkeley Lab to develop electroanalytical tools for studying self exchange in oligomer electrolytes. These projects have led to publications in high impact journals including the ACS Central Science and the Journal of the American Chemical Society.